Each state has its own licensing laws, regulations and license categories. Some states will have a sales associate or salesperson license and a broker license. In other states, license designations can differ, where there is a broker license and a broker-in-charge license. You must check the specific state requirements, or you can contact us for guidance.
To obtain a real estate license, you must first complete a pre-licensing course and pass the state exam.
You must renew your license within a set amount of time after receiving it.
To renew your license, you must either complete the Post License Course or a Continued Education course and pay the state a renewal fee.
Post License Education is usually required when a licensee is renewing their license for the first time, although not all states require a licensee to complete post licensing education. Some states will just require completion of Continued Education to renew a license.
Each state has its own requirements for renewing a real estate license. You must follow these requirements closely, so you don’t risk losing your license.
Students have six months from the date of purchase to access their course on MLS Campus. We offer students a free 30-day extension for the 7th month. If students need more time to complete their course, they can purchase 30-day extensions to extend their course up to one year. Students cannot extend their course past one year. They will need to purchase a new course. MLS Campus offers guidance and assistance to students who are struggling to complete their courses within one year. Please contact us, and our support team will assist.
For further information, please contact MLS Student Support.
There is no limit to the number of times you can take the practice exam. Our statistics show that students who take the practice exam, two or more times, receive a passing grade and pass the course exam on the first attempt. *MLS Campus offers a free practice exam with all our online courses.
Practice, practice, and more practice. Students who take the practice exam two or more times and receive a passing grade of 70% or higher pass all of our course exams on their first attempt. Additionally, make sure that you score 100% on all of your chapter comprehensive tests and quizzes. Examine the course material for the questions you’re getting wrong. To be better prepared for the state exam, aim for mid to upper 80’s and 90% on all practice exams.
Some states have specific requirements for the course final exams. For example, in Florida, if you fail the first attempt at the final exam, you must wait 30 days before sitting the exam for the second time.
In New York, final course exams must be proctored. Students are responsible for rescheduling their final exams with a proctoring location.
You must check your state’s requirements for final examinations. You can also contact us for guidance.
In most states, to become a real estate agent, applicants will need to complete pre-licensing education. In Florida & New York, applicants who are just starting out in real estate must complete the Sales Associate/Salesperson Pre-licensing Course and pass the state licensure exam.
An individual typically begins a real estate career in Florida as a licensed real estate sales associate. Applicants who are starting out in a career in real estate, are required to take the 63 Hour Sales Associate Pre License Course and pass the Florida state license exam.
If you have 2 years’ experience of working as a sales associate, in the last 5 years, and you are looking to progress to a broker license, you are required to pass a 72 Hour Broker Pre License Course, and pass the Florida state license exam.
If you have been practicing as a broker in another state, and have held an active license for 2 years, out of the last 5 years, you can take the 72 Hour Broker Pre License Course, and pass the state license exam, in order to obtain your broker’s license in the state of Florida.
The course itself takes about 4 weeks to complete for most students, since the majority are working full time jobs. Students must also submit their license application to the state and be approved for the state exam. The application usually takes four-six weeks, from the day you submit your state license application, to the day you pass your state exam. The online course is a great option to fit a variety of schedules for working students.
In some states, you can complete the course at your own pace. However, states such as New York require a timing mechanism to be implemented with the course. This means you must be actively engaged in your course reading assignments and unit exams for a set amount of time. You will not be able to progress to the next stage of your course until you have met the time requirements.
Select Log In in the top right corner of our page and enter the username and password you created when registering. After logging in, you’ll be sent to your account page. You can start the course from this page.
License renewal requirements differ between states. Some states require licensees to complete continuing education and pay a renewal fee every year, but most states require licensees to renew every two years.
Some states have license reciprocity, and others have mutual recognition. In most cases, you will need two years of experience and hold an active real estate license to apply. If you are an experienced licensee, you may not be required to take the pre licensing education. You may be able to obtain your license by completing the state exam.
Alternatively, you can apply for your license and meet the state education requirements to obtain a license.
No, all MLS Campus Courses are exclusively available online.
We do, however, provide full assistance to our students. Our instructors are licensed and ARELLO certified and can answer any questions you may have.
Our licensed instructors and student support staff may be reached at (877) 331-6235. We are open seven days a week from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. (EST)